Old Stuff: The Journey Home

This video from 2000 is the first of my two appearances on The Journey Home on EWTN. The Journey Home, now in its 20th season, is a television ministry of the Coming Home Network, an organization that offers support to non-Catholic clergy who leave their ministries to place membership with the Roman Catholic Church.

I hesitated for the longest time about sharing this video. My biblical exegesis, though sincerely meant at the time, is unnuanced and, well, at times atrocious, and I’ve come to deeply regret having dived into the work of polemics right after my conversion. I’m still working out just how to make amends for the hurt that my polemics against the fellowship of my youth, the churches of Christ, may have caused to a community that was so very, very good to me. I decided to share the video here because, granted its polemical nature, I don’t think I was especially uncharitable, and because it’s a genuine representation of where I was in the late 90’s into the early 2000’s. One can’t make reparations for past offenses without owning them.

Let me further say that I’ll always be a supporter of the work of the Coming Home Network. I’m not interested anymore in proselytizing or polemics, but I know what it’s like to feel compelled by conscience to leave a community with which you’re comfortable and to dive into the cripplingly lonely machine that is Catholicism for a non-Catholic, and for those so inclined, a support network like CHN is invaluable.

Leave a Reply

